200 Victories for Yamaha in The Category Queen

The victory of Jorge Lorenzo It has led to in the past Grand Prix of Japan the number 200 in the history of Yamaha in the category Queen. It has also coincided with another landmark: is the 30th for Jorge Lorenzo also in the category Queen having reached at Phillip Island the fifty if we put together the three categories in which it has run.

The winning streak of Yamaha 500 and MotoGP subsequently started a few years ago, in 1973, when Chas Mortimer it overcame the disappeared and dangerous Grand Prize of Montjuic in Barcelona. After him came a few that you can see in detail in the link that you attach to the end of the article.

Giacomo Agostini It was the following that we can highlight, with six victories in 1975 that would get the title. We give another jump and got to the golden age of the Americans with Kenny Roberts, Eddie Lawson and Wayne Rainey. The Martian was awarded 24 victories, the same as Wayne Raine while appearing in the palmares of Eddie Lawson two more for a total of 26.

We already jump to pilots who are or have been active until very recently. Max Biaggi in its fierce struggle with Valentino Rossi He scored eight wins. Precisely from Tavullia was honored to win the 150 for Yamaha, carrying 48 wins in total to his credit. From that moment and with the exception of Ben Spies in the Grand Prize of Holland 2011, 49 of the last 50 victories have won them or Valentino Rossi or Jorge Lorenzo, as we said before leading 30 in total. And so up to a total of 28 different drivers.

If you want to see what more drivers have contributed to this, we have made a statistical work and the following table shows the 200 victories and with all the data, since the season up to the circuit, pilot and country. Curiously, in 1997 and in 2003 not scored any victory.

200 victories for Yamaha in MotoGP/500