Arizona General Information


Abbreviated as AZ on ABBREVIATIONFINDER.ORG, Arizona is a US state. The abbreviation used in postal codes is AZ. The capital of Arizona is Phoenix.

Arizona Population


Grand Canyon State, Copper State



Biggest town



Rank (within the USA): 6th out of 50 states

Total: 295,254 km²

Land: 294,312 km²

Water (%): 942 km² (0.32%)


Rank (within the US): 20th out of 50 states

Total (2000): 5,130,632

Density: 17.4 / km²

State membership

Place: 48th

Since: February 14, 1912


Time zone: Mountain: UTC –7 There is no daylight saving time.

Latitude: 31 ° 20’N to 37 ° NN

Longitude 109 ° 3’W to 114 ° 50’W

Width: 500 km

Length: 645 km

Highest position: 3,851 m

Average location: 1,250 m

Lowest position: 21 m

Arizona State Flag

The neighboring states are California in the west, Nevada and Utah in the north, and New Mexico in the east. Arizona only borders Colorado at a single point in the northeast, the so-called Four Corners. The neighboring country to the south is Mexico. Arizona is divided into 15 counties.


There are 6,392,017 people living in the state of Arizona.


In the period from 300 to about 1200, the Hohokam culture was in southern Arizona. European missionaries first came to the area in the 16th century at the latest: Marcos de Niza, a Spanish Franciscan, traveled to what is now the southwest of the USA around 1539 and described the Seven Golden Cities of Cibo, which in turn was Francisco Vásquez de Coronado, a Spanish Conquistador the search for these 1540–1542 led to the area.

Welcome to Arizona

In 1848, after its defeat in the Mexican-American War in the Treaty of Guadelupe Hidalgo, Mexico had all areas north of the Gila River – i.e. the areas of today’s states of Arizona, New Mexico, California, Nevada, Utah, the western part of Colorado and the southwestern part Wyomings – ceded to the US for a payment of $ 15 million. In 1850 the territory of New Mexico with Arizona, the western part of New Mexico and the south of Nevada was formed and in 1853 another area of 77,700 km² south of the Gila River was acquired with the Gadsden purchase of Mexico for 10 million dollars. This was attached to the New Mexico Territory and is now largely in Arizona after its division into the Arizona and New Mexico Territories on February 24, 1863.

On February 14, 1912, Arizona became the 48th state in the United States.


Are you satisfied with the following descriptions? The sky appears larger to the viewer, the stars shine brighter and the sunset takes your breath away. If that makes for positive thoughts, then one should consider paying a visit to the capital Phoenix in the state of Arizona. Or to move his place of residence there.

Phoenix is ​​headquartered in Maricopa County. Maricopa County is one of 15 counties in Arizona. Many of these counties have their origins in the Native American people. For example, the Maricopa Indians are the descendants of the Hohokam culture, which can refer to a history of more than 1,000 years.

Phoenix itself can also boast a few superlatives. For example, Platz in der Sonne is the sixth largest city in the USA. Since 1980 the population has almost doubled from almost 800,000 to almost 1,500,000. Despite the subtropical desert climate, Phoenix became more and more popular. The daytime temperature in the months from April to October is often over 30 degrees, if you like it even hotter, you should visit Phoenix from June to August. The 40 degree mark is happily cracked during this period.

It is not without reason that this place is nicknamed “Valley of the Sun”. So if you don’t like rain so much, you are in good hands at the upper edge of the Sonoran Desert. Not only a sunset but also a picture next to one of the large cacti called “Giant saguaro” could provide impressive images. These prickly companions can even reach heights of over 10 meters.

Anyone who works in Phoenix may be employed by a Fortune 500 company. Up to five companies based in the sunny city are represented in this glorious list. In industries with more than a million employees, the Phoenix metropolitan area ranks number one in America for the workforce.

Saguaro National Park

Arizona Counties and County Seats

According to Countryaah, there are a total of 15 counties in the state of Arizona.

  1. Apache County (County Seat: St. Johns)
  2. Cochise County (County Seat: Bisbee)
  3. Coconino County (County Seat: Flagstaff)
  4. Gila County (County Seat: Globe)
  5. Graham County (County Seat: Safford)
  6. Greenlee County (County Seat: Clifton)
  7. La Paz County (County Seat: Parker)
  8. Maricopa County (County Seat: Phoenix)
  9. Mohave County (County Seat: Kingman)
  10. Navajo County (County Seat: Holbrook)
  11. Pima County (County Seat: Tucson)
  12. Pinal County (County Seat: Florence)
  13. Santa Cruz County (County Seat: Nogales)
  14. Yavapai County (County Seat: Prescott)
  15. Yuma County (County Seat: Yuma)

You may also like...