Dominican Republic State Overview

On 4 of August of 1496, Bartholomew Columbus, brother of Christopher Columbus, founded the city of Santo Domingo. There the capital of the colony would be established, which the Spanish called the Captaincy General of Santo Domingo. Due to this fact, the island gradually began to be known as Isla de Santo Domingo and its residents with the name of Dominicans. Thus the 27 of February of 1844, when Dominicans managed to secede from Haiti named the new nation called the Dominican Republic.


According to Allcitycodes, the Dominican Republic is a democracy representative whose powers are divided into three: Executive Power, Legislative Power and Judicial Power. The president appoints the Cabinet, executes the laws coming from the Legislative Power and is the Commander-in-Chief of the Armed Forces. The president and vice president run under the same candidacy and are elected by direct vote every four years.The Legislative Branch is made up of the National Congress of the Dominican Republic in two chambers: the Senate with 32 seats and the Chamber of Deputies with 178 Seats The president and vice president are elected for a term of 4 years. The congressional and municipal elections are every four years using the second round, with two years between the presidential elections and the congressional and municipal elections.The elections are held on the third Sunday of May every four years, and people over 18 years of age vote with their national identity card, or identity card and electoral card.

Armed forces

The Congress authorizes a force military combined 44,000 active duty personnel. However, approximately 50% are used for non – military activities, such as providing security for non – military facilities owned by the government, stations highwaytoll, prisons, forestry work, security for state enterprises and companies privadas.Las Main missions are to defend the nation and protect the territorial integrity of the country. The army, larger than the other services, combined with some 20,000 active duty personnel, consists of six infantry brigades, a combat support brigade and a combat support service brigade. The air force operates two main bases, one in the southern region, near Santo Domingo and another in the northern region, near Puerto Plata. The navy has two main naval bases, one in Santo Domingo and the other in Las Calderas, on the southwest coast, and maintains 12 operational vessels. In the Caribbean, only Cuba has a larger militia.

The Armed Forces has organized the Specialized Corps for Airport Security (CESA) and the Specialized Corps for Port Security (CESEP) to meet the needs of international security in these areas. There is also a Specialized Border Security Corps (Cefront). In addition, the armed forces provide 75% of the personnel of the National Directorate of Investigations (DNI) and the National Directorate of Drug Control (DNCD). The National Police contains 32,000 agents. The police are not part of the armed forces, but share some security functions.

Territorial organization

The Dominican Republic is made up of 32 provinces and one of them is the National District. Each of the provinces has its capital or head municipality. In addition, the national capital, Santo Domingo, is located in its own district: Distrito Nacional.


The Dominican Republic has numerous tourist attractions that are visited by millions of tourists a year from the United States, Canada, Europe, Latin America, among others. The Dominican Republic has become a major tourist attraction in recent decades; for its beauty, tropical paradise atmosphere, its location, the charisma of its people, among other things. Among its main tourist areas are Punta Cana, Bávaro, Uvero Alto, Puerto Plata, Bayahibe, Sosúa, Cabarete, Río San Juan, Samaná, Las Terrenas, Santo Domingo, Juan Dolio, Boca Chica, Jarabacoa, Constanza, La Romana, Bahía de las Águilas (Pedernales), Barahona, among others.


The Dominican Republic has five main highways that take travelers to all major cities in the country. Among the three main highways are RD-1, RD-2 and RD-3, which connect with the north, southwest and east of the country, respectively. There is a new highway, the 106-kilometer Santo Domingo-Samaná highway that connects Santo Domingo with the Samaná peninsula. Most of the interconnection routes of the country’s small cities are unpaved.

  • Roads: The State, aware that it is impossible to develop the tourist industry without good access roads, considers the construction of highways, both regional and inter-regional, a priority, connecting tourist areas with urban centers and service areas. closer.
  • Ports: In order for the country to benefit from the tourist activity generated by maritime cruises, the State has built tourist ports and enabled areas within the existing ones. In the same way, it has authorized tourist boats to dock in places previously not allowed, such as Catalina Island.
  • Airports: The work of the State has been oriented to the construction of international airports, such as those of Puerto Plata and Barahona; as well as the granting of an international function to existing national airports.

Dominican Republic State Overview

You may also like...