Idaho General Information


Abbreviated as ID on ABBREVIATIONFINDER.ORG, Idaho is a US state in the northwest of the United States. The capital is Boise.

Idaho Population


Gem State



Biggest town



Rank (within the US): 14th out of 50 states

Total: 216.6 km²

Land: 214.5 km²

Water (%): 2.1 km² (1%)


Rank (within the US): 39th out of 50 states

Total (2000): 1,293,953

Density: 6 / km²

State membership

Place: 43th

Since: July 3, 1890


Time Zone: Northern Idaho: Pacific: UTC -8 / -7

South Idaho: Mountain: UTC -7 / -6

Latitude: 42 ° N to 49 ° N

Longitude 110 ° W to 117 ° W

Width: 491 km

Length: 771 km

Highest position: 3,859 m

Average location: 1,524 m

Lowest position: 216 m

Idaho State Flag

Idaho is framed by its neighbors Washington, Oregon, Nevada, Utah, Montana, Wyoming and Canada. The landscape is mountainous with unspoiled areas. The Rocky Mountains run through the entire country. Mineral resources are abundant. The waters of the Snake River rush through Hells Canyon, which is deeper than the Grand Canyon. Shoshone Falls tumble from rough rocks from a height greater than that of Niagara Falls. Idaho’s larger rivers are the Snake River, the Clearwater River, and the Salmon River.


Coeur d’Alene Payette Lake (McCall) Pend O’Reille Redfish Lake (Sawtooth National Recreational Area) Alturas Lake (Sawtooth National Recreational Area) Petit Lake (Sawtooth National Recreational Area) Sawtooth Lake (Sawtooth National Recreational Area)

Landscape and national parks

Hells Canyon Yellowstone National Park Massacre Rocks Craters of the Moon National Monument City of Rocks Farragut State Park Balanced Rock.


There are 1,293,953 residents in Idaho.


On March 4, 1863, President Abraham Lincoln signed a law that created the Idaho Territory. It was part of the Louisiana Purchase; Idaho was explored by Lewis and Clark as early as 1805. About 8,000 Indians lived in the area at that time. At first it was part of Oregon and Washington, the fur trade and missionary activity caused the first settlers to break into the region. Thousands roamed Idaho during the California gold rush in 1849, only a few settled in Idaho.

When it was converted to territory in 1863, the total population was below 17,000. In 1865 Boise became capital in place of Lewiston. When gold was discovered in Idaho in 1866 and the transcontinental railroad was completed in 1869, numerous people came to Idaho, especially Chinese residents, to work in the mines. President Benjamin Harrison signed a bill that Idaho joined the United States on July 3, 1890, the then population was 88,548. The former constitution of 1889 is still in force. After the establishment as a state, mining and other industries became a major factor in the economy.

In the 1890s, Idaho exported more lead than any other state. Although Idaho’s dependence on mining has decreased, the state continues to be a major producer of silver and lead.


The gross national product in 1999 was about 34 billion US dollars (44th place). The per capita income in 2000 was $ 24,180. Agricultural products are beef, potatoes, dairy products, wheat and barley. The industrial products are wood products, machinery, chemical products, paper products, silver and other natural resources. Tourism is an important industry.


Boise (capital), Idaho Falls, Lewiston, Coeur d’Alene, Moscow, Pocatello, Twin Falls

Idaho Counties and County Seats

According to Countryaah, there are a total of 44 counties in the state of Idaho.

  1. Ada County (County Seat: Boise)
  2. Adams County (County Seat: Council)
  3. Bannock County (County Seat: Pocatello)
  4. Bear Lake County (County Seat: Paris)
  5. Benewah County (County Seat: St. Maries)
  6. Bingham County (County Seat: Blackfoot)
  7. Blaine County (County Seat: Hailey)
  8. Boise County (County Seat: Idaho City)
  9. Bonner County (County Seat: Sandpoint)
  10. Bonneville County (County Seat: Idaho Falls)
  11. Boundary County (County Seat: Bonners Ferry)
  12. Butte County (County Seat: Arco)
  13. Camas County (County Seat: Fairfield)
  14. Canyon County (County Seat: Caldwell)
  15. Caribou County (County Seat: Soda Springs)
  16. Cassia County (County Seat: Burley)
  17. Clark County (County Seat: Dubois)
  18. Clearwater County (County Seat: Orofino)
  19. Custer County (County Seat: Challis)
  20. Elmore County (County Seat: Mountain Home)
  21. Franklin County (County Seat: Preston)
  22. Fremont County (County Seat: St. Anthony)
  23. Gem County (County Seat: Emmett)
  24. Gooding County (County Seat: Gooding)
  25. Idaho County (County Seat: Grangeville)
  26. Jefferson County (County Seat: Rigby)
  27. Jerome County (County Seat: Jerome)
  28. Kootenai County (County Seat: Coeur d’Alene)
  29. Latah County (County Seat: Moscow)
  30. Lemhi County (County Seat: Salmon)
  31. Lewis County (County Seat: Nezperce)
  32. Lincoln County (County Seat: Shoshone)
  33. Madison County (County Seat: Rexburg)
  34. Minidoka County (County Seat: Rupert)
  35. Nez Perce County (County Seat: Lewiston)
  36. Oneida County (County Seat: Malad City)
  37. Owyhee County (County Seat: Murphy)
  38. Payette County (County Seat: Payette)
  39. Power County (County Seat: American Falls)
  40. Shoshone County (County Seat: Wallace)
  41. Teton County (County Seat: Driggs)
  42. Twin Falls County (County Seat: Twin Falls)
  43. Valley County (County Seat: Cascade)
  44. Washington County (County Seat: Weiser)

Lana Turner

You may also like...