Nebraska General Information


Abbreviated as NE on ABBREVIATIONFINDER.ORG, Nebraska is a US state in the Midwestern United States of America. The name Nebraska comes from an Indian word meaning shallow water. The name comes from the Platte River, which flows through the state.

Nebraska Population


Cornhusker State



Biggest town



Rank (within the US): 16th out of 50 states

In total: 200,520 km²

Land: 199,273 km²

Water (%): 1,247 km² (0.6%)


Rank (within the US): 38th out of 50 states

Total (2000): 1,711,263

Density: 8.5 / km²

State membership

Place: 37th

Since: March 1, 1867


Time zone: Central: UTC –6 / –5

Mountain: UTC -7 / -6

Latitude: 40 ° N to 43 °

Longitude 95 ° 25’W to 104 ° W

Width: 340 km

Length: 690 km

Highest position: 1,653 m

Average location: 790 m

Lowest position: 256 m

Nebraska State Flag

Nebraska’s states are South Dakota in the north; Iowa and Missouri to the east, behind the Missouri River; Kansas to the south; Colorado to the southwest, and Wyoming to the west. The largest city in Nebraska is Omaha; the capital of Nebraska is Lincoln. The state is divided into 93 counties. Nebraska is located in the middle of the Great Plains on the westernmost foothills of the wheat belt (“Grain Belt”). The eastern part of the state can be counted as part of the Midwest, with the western part counting as part of the western United States. One of Nebraska’s slogans is the motto: “Where the West begins”.


The Kansas-Nebraska Act came into force on May 30, 1854, with the result that the country became the territory of the United States, namely to the states of Nebraska and Kansas. In the 1860s, the Homestead Act brought the first wave of settlers to Nebraska to take possession of the land made available by the US government.

Nebraska became the 37th state in 1867, shortly after the Civil War.


Nebraska is the only state in the USA with a unicameral system in its legislation. The members of this Parliament call themselves “Senators”.


The population of Nebraska in 2000 was 1,711,263.


Nebraska is a producer of agricultural products, especially beef and corn.

Although it used to be feared that Nebraska might become part of the great American desert, Nebraska is now one of the largest producers of agricultural products. The people of Nebraska have used modern agriculture to transform the prairie plains into a land of ranches and farms. The history of Nebraska is therefore closely linked to agriculture.


Omaha, Lincoln, Bellevue, Grand Island, Kearney, Fremont, Hastings, North Platte, Norfolk, Columbus


Colleges and Universities Bellevue University Chadron State College Clarkson College College of Saint Mary Concordia University, Nebraska Creighton University Dana College Doane College Grace University Hastings College Midland Lutheran College Nebraska Christian College Nebraska Wesleyan University Peru State College Southeast Community College Union College University of Nebraska University of Nebraska-Lincoln University of Nebraska at Kearney University of Nebraska at Omaha University of Nebraska Medical Center Wayne State College York College.

Niobrara River

Nebraska Counties and County Seats

According to Countryaah, there are a total of 93 counties in the state of Nebraska.

  1. Adams County (County Seat: Hastings)
  2. Antelope County (County Seat: Neligh)
  3. Arthur County (County Seat: Arthur)
  4. Banner County (County Seat: Harrisburg)
  5. Blaine County (County Seat: Brewster)
  6. Boone County (County Seat: Albion)
  7. Box Butte County (County Seat: Alliance)
  8. Boyd County (County Seat: Butte)
  9. Brown County (County Seat: Ainsworth)
  10. Buffalo County (County Seat: Kearney)
  11. Burt County (County Seat: Tekamah)
  12. Butler County (County Seat: David City)
  13. Cass County (County Seat: Plattsmouth)
  14. Cedar County (County Seat: Hartington)
  15. Chase County (County Seat: Imperial)
  16. Cherry County (County Seat: Valentine)
  17. Cheyenne County (County Seat: Sidney)
  18. Clay County (County Seat: Clay Center)
  19. Colfax County (County Seat: Schuyler)
  20. Cuming County (County Seat: West Point)
  21. Custer County (County Seat: Broken Bow)
  22. Dakota County (County Seat: Dakota City)
  23. Dawes County (County Seat: Chadron)
  24. Dawson County (County Seat: Lexington)
  25. Deuel County (County Seat: Chappell)
  26. Dixon County (County Seat: Ponca)
  27. Dodge County (County Seat: Fremont)
  28. Douglas County (County Seat: Omaha)
  29. Dundy County (County Seat: Benkelman)
  30. Fillmore County (County Seat: Geneva)
  31. Franklin County (County Seat: Franklin)
  32. Frontier County (County Seat: Stockville)
  33. Furnas County (County Seat: Beaver City)
  34. Gage County (County Seat: Beatrice)
  35. Garden County (County Seat: Oshkosh)
  36. Garfield County (County Seat: Burwell)
  37. Gosper County (County Seat: Elwood)
  38. Grant County (County Seat: Hyannis)
  39. Greeley County (County Seat: Greeley)
  40. Hall County (County Seat: Grand Island)
  41. Hamilton County (County Seat: Aurora)
  42. Harlan County (County Seat: Alma)
  43. Hayes County (County Seat: Hayes Center)
  44. Hitchcock County (County Seat: Trenton)
  45. Holt County (County Seat: O’Neill)
  46. Hooker County (County Seat: Mullen)
  47. Howard County (County Seat: St. Paul)
  48. Jefferson County (County Seat: Fairbury)
  49. Johnson County (County Seat: Tecumseh)
  50. Kearney County (County Seat: Minden)
  51. Keith County (County Seat: Ogallala)
  52. Keya Paha County (County Seat: Springview)
  53. Kimball County (County Seat: Kimball)
  54. Knox County (County Seat: Center)
  55. Lancaster County (County Seat: Lincoln)
  56. Lincoln County (County Seat: North Platte)
  57. Logan County (County Seat: Stapleton)
  58. Loup County (County Seat: Taylor)
  59. Madison County (County Seat: Madison)
  60. McPherson County (County Seat: Tryon)
  61. Merrick County (County Seat: Central City)
  62. Morrill County (County Seat: Bridgeport)
  63. Nance County (County Seat: Fullerton)
  64. Nemaha County (County Seat: Auburn)
  65. Nuckolls County (County Seat: Nelson)
  66. Otoe County (County Seat: Nebraska City)
  67. Pawnee County (County Seat: Pawnee City)
  68. Perkins County (County Seat: Brant)
  69. Phelps County (County Seat: Holdrege)
  70. Pierce County (County Seat: Pierce)
  71. Platte County (County Seat: Columbus)
  72. Polk County (County Seat: Osceola)
  73. Red Willow County (County Seat: McCook)
  74. Richardson County (County Seat: Falls City)
  75. Rock County (County Seat: Bassett)
  76. Saline County (County Seat: Wilber)
  77. Sarpy County (County Seat: Papillion)
  78. Saunders County (County Seat: Wahoo)
  79. Scotts Bluff County (County Seat: Gering)
  80. Seward County (County Seat: Seward)
  81. Sheridan County (County Seat: Rushville)
  82. Sherman County (County Seat: Loup City)
  83. Sioux County (County Seat: Harrison)
  84. Stanton County (County Seat: Stanton)
  85. Thayer County (County Seat: Hebron)
  86. Thomas County (County Seat: Thedford)
  87. Thurston County (County Seat: Pender)
  88. Valley County (County Seat: Ord)
  89. Washington County (County Seat: Blair)
  90. Wayne County (County Seat: Wayne)
  91. Webster County (County Seat: Red Cloud)
  92. Wheeler County (County Seat: Bartlett)
  93. York County (County Seat: York)

You may also like...