New Hampshire General Information


Abbreviated as NH on ABBREVIATIONFINDER.ORG, New Hampshire is a US state in New England. New Hampshire is one of the first 13 states (admitted to the Union in 1788) and was named after the English county of Hampshire. It is also called the “Granite State” because of its many quarries. At the same time, the nickname also reflects the preservation of traditions and the history of an economical government.

New Hampshire Population


The Granite State



Biggest town



Rank (within the US): 46th out of 50 states

Total: 24,239 km²

Land: 23,249 km²

Water (%): 514 km² (3.5%)


Rank (within the US): 41st out of 50 states

Total (2000): 1,235,786

Density: 51 / km²

State membership

Place: 9th

Since: June 21, 1788


Time zone: Eastern: UTC -5 / -4

Latitude: 42 ° 40’N to 45 ° 18’N

Longitude 70 ° 37’W to 72 ° 37’W

Width: 110 km

Length: 305 km

Highest position: 1,917 m

Average location: 305 m

Lowest position: 0 m

New Hampshire State Flag


There are 1,235,786 residents in New Hampshire.


New Hampshire was settled as early as 1623, just three years after the Pilgrim Fathers landed in Massachusetts. New Hampshire’s story goes from the wilderness to an agricultural society to an industrial society.


There are no general VAT or income taxes, which corresponds to the state motto “Live or die free”.

Although it is a relatively small state, New Hampshire plays an important role in the presidential election every four years, as this is where the primary election takes place.

Granite quarry near Concord, New Hampshire

New Hampshire Counties and County Seats

According to Countryaah, there are a total of 10 counties in the state of New Hampshire.

  1. Belknap County (County Seat: Laconia)
  2. Carroll County (County Seat: Ossipee)
  3. Cheshire County (County Seat: Keene)
  4. Coos County (County Seat: Lancaster)
  5. Grafton County (County Seat: North Haverhill)
  6. Hillsborough County (County Seat: Nashua)
  7. Merrimack County (County Seat: Concord)
  8. Rockingham County (County Seat: Brentwood)
  9. Strafford County (County Seat: Dover)
  10. Sullivan County (County Seat: Newport)

You may also like...