Rhode Island General Information


Abbreviated as RI on ABBREVIATIONFINDER.ORG, Rhode Island is the smallest state in the United States in terms of area. The official name of Rhode Island is State of Rhode Island and Providence Plantations.

Rhode Island Population


The Ocean State



Biggest town



Rank (within the US): 50th out of 50 states

Total: 4,005 km²

Land: 2,709 km²

Water (%): 1,296 km² (32.4%)

Lighthouse on Block Island


Rank (within the US): 43rd out of 50 states

Total (2000): 1,048,319

Density: 262 / km²

State membership

Place: 13th

Since: May 29, 1790


Time zone: Eastern: UTC -5 / -4

Latitude: 41 ° 18’N to 42 ° 1’N

Longitude 71 ° 8’W to 71 ° 53’W

Width: 50 km

Length: 65 km

Highest position: 247 m

Average location: 60 m

Lowest position: 0 m

Rhode Island State Flag

Rhode Island is in New England and borders Massachusetts to the north and east, the Atlantic Ocean to the south, and Connecticut to the west.


The current constitution of Rhode Island dates from 1842 and has been amended many times. At the head of the executive is the governor, who is elected for four years. The Rhode Islands legislature consists of a Senate with 50 and a Parliament with 100 members. Both are elected for two years. Rhode Island has two MPs in the US House of Representatives and four electors in the presidential election.


Rhode Island is the smallest US state by area only; Wyoming has the lowest population. A good half of the population of Rhode Island are Catholic. This makes Rhode Island one of only two US states in which a single religious group has an absolute majority. (The other is Mormon-majority Utah).

Rhode Island Counties and County Seats

According to Countryaah, there are a total of 5 counties in the state of Rhode Island.

  1. Bristol County (County Seat: Bristol)
  2. Kent County (County Seat: East Greenwich)
  3. Newport County (County Seat: Newport)
  4. Providence County (County Seat: Providence)
  5. Washington County (County Seat: West Kingston)

You may also like...