Washington General Information


Abbreviated as WA on ABBREVIATIONFINDER.ORG, Washington is in the northwest of the United States. There is always a risk of confusion with the capital of the USA, Washington, DC The capital is called Olympia and the largest city in Washington is Seattle.


Evergreen State



Biggest town



Rank (within the US): 18th out of 50 states

Total: 184,824 km²

Land: 172,587 km²

Water (%): 12,237 km² (6.6%)


Rank (within the US): 15th out of 50 states

Total (2000): 5,894,121

Density: 32 / km²

State membership

Place: 42nd

Since: November 11, 1889


Time zone: Pacific: UTC -8 / -7

Latitude: 45 ° 32’N to 49 ° N

Longitude 116 ° 57’W to 124 ° 48’W

Width: 385 km

Length: 580 km

Highest position: 4,392 m

Average location: 520 m

Lowest position: 0 m

Washington State Flag

Washington is bordered by the Pacific to the west, Oregon to the south, Idaho to the east, and British Columbia, Canada to the north. Washington’s fame is based on the tranquil landscape and the sharp contrasts between mountain and coastal regions. The coastal location and natural harbors offer the best opportunities for overseas trade between the Pacific, Canada and Alaska.

The high forests on the Olympia peninsula are among the rainiest areas on earth, to the east of the cascades are the country’s semi-deserts, which are entirely without any significant vegetation. Mount Rainier, the highest mountain in the state, literally flows into the horizon southeast of Seattle and Tacoma on a clear day.


Puget Sound, Bainbridge Island, San Juan Islands, Whidbey Island, Vashon Island, Columbia River, Snake River


Cascades, Mount Adams, Mount Baker, Glacier Peak, Mount Rainier, Mount St. Helens, Mount Stuart, Olympic Mountains

Roosevelt Lake in Washington State


There are 5,894,121 residents in Washington.


In 1853 the territory of Washington was carved out of the Oregon territory. Washington became the 42nd state of the United States on November 11, 1889. It is the only US state named after a president, George Washington.


Seattle, Spokane, Tacoma, Vancouver, Everett, Pullman, Tri-Cities, Yakima

Washington Population

Washington Counties and County Seats

According to Countryaah, there are a total of 39 counties in the state of Washington.

  1. Adams County (County Seat: Ritzville)
  2. Asotin County (County Seat: Asotin)
  3. Benton County (County Seat: Prosser)
  4. Chelan County (County Seat: Wenatchee)
  5. Clallam County (County Seat: Port Angeles)
  6. Clark County (County Seat: Vancouver)
  7. Columbia County (County Seat: Dayton)
  8. Cowlitz County (County Seat: Kelso)
  9. Douglas County (County Seat: Waterville)
  10. Ferry County (County Seat: Republic)
  11. Franklin County (County Seat: Pasco)
  12. Garfield County (County Seat: Pomeroy)
  13. Grant County (County Seat: Ephrata)
  14. Grays Harbor County (County Seat: Montesano)
  15. Island County (County Seat: Coupeville)
  16. Jefferson County (County Seat: Port Townsend)
  17. King County (County Seat: Seattle)
  18. Kitsap County (County Seat: Port Orchard)
  19. Kittitas County (County Seat: Ellensburg)
  20. Klickitat County (County Seat: Goldendale)
  21. Lewis County (County Seat: Chehalis)
  22. Lincoln County (County Seat: Davenport)
  23. Mason County (County Seat: Shelton)
  24. Okanogan County (County Seat: Okanogan)
  25. Pacific County (County Seat: South Bend)
  26. Pend Oreille County (County Seat: Newport)
  27. Pierce County (County Seat: Tacoma)
  28. San Juan County (County Seat: Friday Harbor)
  29. Skagit County (County Seat: Mount Vernon)
  30. Skamania County (County Seat: Stevenson)
  31. Snohomish County (County Seat: Everett)
  32. Spokane County (County Seat: Spokane)
  33. Stevens County (County Seat: Colville)
  34. Thurston County (County Seat: Olympia)
  35. Wahkiakum County (County Seat: Cathlamet)
  36. Walla Walla County (County Seat: Walla Walla)
  37. Whatcom County (County Seat: Bellingham)
  38. Whitman County (County Seat: Colfax)
  39. Yakima County (County Seat: Yakima)

You may also like...