Wyoming General Information

Abbreviated as WY on ABBREVIATIONFINDER.ORG, Wyoming is the smallest state in the United States in terms of population with just under 500,000 residents.


Equality State



Biggest town



Rank (within the US): 10th out of 50 states

Total: 253,554 km²

Land: 251,706 km²

Water (%): 1,851 km² (0.7%)


Rank (within the US): 50th out of 50 states

Total (2000): 493,782

Density: 1.9 / km²

State membership

Place: 44th

Since: July 10, 1890


Time zone: Mountain: UTC –7 / –6

Latitude: 41 ° N to 45 ° N

Longitude 104 ° 3’W to 111 ° 3’W

Width: 450 km

Length: 580 km

Highest position: 4,207 m

Average location: 2,040 m

Lowest position: 945 m

Wyoming State Flag

Located in the western United States, it rises from the plains of Eastern Wyoming to the Rocky Mountains. It is bordered by Montana to the north, South Dakota and Nebraska to the east, Colorado to the south, and Utah and Idaho to the west.


There are 493,782 residents in Wyoming.


By the end of the 19th century, Wyoming was largely inhabited by Indians of the following tribes: Absarokee, Arapaho, Bannock, Cheyenne, Lakota, Pawnee, Northern Shoshone Ute. The Comanche, Kiowa and Kiowa Apaches used to hunt in what is now Wyoming.

The Wyoming Territory (which later became the state) became the first US territory to introduce women’s suffrage in 1869. The state later also elected the first female member of the US parliament and later had the first female governor (prime minister) of the US.


Wyoming’s constitution is still the first from 1890. At the head of the executive is the governor, who is elected for four years. The Wyoming Legislature consists of a Senate with 30 and a Parliament with 60 members. The state sends one MP to the US House of Representatives and (like all states) two Senators to the US Senate. He therefore provides three electors in presidential elections.


Wyoming’s most famous attractions include Yellowstone National Park and Grand Teton National Park. The small town of Cody is approximately 25 miles east of Yellowstone National Park. It houses a Buffalo Bill Museum, which is in memory of William Frederick ‘Buffalo Bill’ Cody (1846-1917). William F. Cody co-founded the city of Cody in the late 19th century.

Grand Teton National Park


The 10 largest cities: 1. Cheyenne 53,011–2. Casper 49,644 – 3rd Laramie 27,204 – 4th Gillette 19,646 – 5th Rock Springs 18,708 – 6th Sheridan 15,804 – 7th Green River 11,808 – 8th Evanston 11,507 – 9th Riverton 9,310-10. Cody 8,835

Wyoming Population

Wyoming Counties and County Seats

According to Countryaah, there are a total of 23 counties in the state of Wyoming.

  1. Albany County (County Seat: Laramie)
  2. Big Horn County (County Seat: Basin)
  3. Campbell County (County Seat: Gillette)
  4. Carbon County (County Seat: Rawlins)
  5. Converse County (County Seat: Douglas)
  6. Crook County (County Seat: Sundance)
  7. Fremont County (County Seat: Lander)
  8. Goshen County (County Seat: Torrington)
  9. Hot Springs County (County Seat: Thermopolis)
  10. Johnson County (County Seat: Buffalo)
  11. Laramie County (County Seat: Cheyenne)
  12. Lincoln County (County Seat: Kemmerer)
  13. Natrona County (County Seat: Casper)
  14. Niobrara County (County Seat: Lusk)
  15. Park County (County Seat: Cody)
  16. Platte County (County Seat: Wheatland)
  17. Sheridan County (County Seat: Sheridan)
  18. Sublette County (County Seat: Pinedale)
  19. Sweetwater County (County Seat: Green River)
  20. Teton County (County Seat: Jackson)
  21. Uinta County (County Seat: Evanston)
  22. Washakie County (County Seat: Worland)
  23. Weston County (County Seat: Newcastle)

You may also like...